Agenda Item 14.0: Resolutions Committee Report

Presenter: Greg Wiecko

Background:

## Resolution of Appreciation to Agricultural Experiment Station Administrators who Left Their Positions and Responsibilities in the 2011-2012 Year.

**WHEREAS**, the following have served as Administrators of their respective State Agricultural Experiment Stations; and

**WHEREAS**, they have actively participated and served in various capacities at the state, regional and national level on behalf of the Agricultural Experiment Station System. Now, therefore be it

**RESOLVED** that the State Experiment Station Directors at their annual meeting on September 25, 2012, recognize the contributions and service of the following individuals toward strengthening the State Agricultural Experiment Station System, and wish them success and happiness in all their future endeavors:

| <ul> <li>ARD</li> <li>Samuel Donald from Florida A&amp;M<br/>University (interim)</li> <li>Jurgen Schwarz from the University of<br/>Maryland Eastern Shore (interim)</li> <li>Garlen Wesson from South Carolina<br/>State University</li> </ul> | <ul> <li>NERA</li> <li>Robin Morgan, University of Delaware</li> <li>Gloria Wyche-Moore, University of the District of Columbia</li> </ul> |
|--|--|
| <ul> <li>WAAESD</li> <li>Ralph Cavalieri, Washington State<br/>University</li> <li>Neal Van Alfen, University of<br/>California</li> <li>James (Jim) MacDonald, University of<br/>California</li> </ul>  | <ul> <li>SAAESD</li> <li>W. David Smith, North Carolina State<br/>University</li> </ul>  |

## **RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION**

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Lee Sommers, Chairman of the Experiment Station Section [ESS] of the Board on Agriculture Assembly has provided selfless and committed leadership and keen oversight to enhance the system; and

**WHEREAS**, under Dr. Sommers' leadership and support, the priorities of the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agriculture Assembly have been greatly enhanced and have achieved significant accomplishments; and

**WHEREAS**, Dr. Sommers has provided outstanding leadership in the area of planning and building relationships with other research, extension and academic units; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Sommers has been visionary and timely in conducting ESS business,

**LET IT BE KNOWN**, that the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agriculture Assembly recognizes Dr.Sommers' invaluable contributions and service to the national agricultural research system; and

**THEREFORE**, on this day of September 25, 2012, the Experiment Station Section resolves to extend its sincere gratitude for his commitment, service, and leadership in making the system more effective in addressing current and future needs, challenges and opportunities in agricultural research, and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that an original of this resolution be provided to Dr. Lee Sommers and that a copy be filed as part of the official minutes of this meeting.

## **RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION**

**WHEREAS**, the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agriculture Assembly met at the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel and Conference Center, Portsmouth, NH on September 24-27, 2012; and

**WHEREAS**, those attending were educated and stimulated by the meetings and associated events; and

**WHEREAS** the location for the meeting was outstanding and the accommodations were both compatible and conducive to effective interaction resulting in a successful meeting;

**THEREFORE** be it resolved that the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agriculture Assembly expresses its appreciation to Dr. Dan Rossi, Dr. Jon M. Wraith, Dr. Mike Hoffmann, Ms. Rubie Mize, and Ms. Marge Joy for arranging the facilities; handling the logistics; and coordinating the meetings, breakout sessions and social events, and

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that an original of this resolution be provided to Dr. Dan Rossi, Dr. Jon M. Wraith, Dr. Mike Hoffmann, Ms. Rubie Mize, and Ms. Marge Joy, and that a copy be filed as part of the official minutes of this meeting.

Action Requested: Approval of resolutions