Item 14.0 ESCOP Diversity in Leadership Task Force

Presentor: Karen Plaut and Jeff Jacobsen

For Information Only

## **Background**

The Diversity Task Force was created by ESCOP to explore the topic of diversity in research leadership across the Land-grant University System, to provide ideas and actions for consideration, and to supplement institutional, regional and national diversity and inclusion efforts. The focus should be primarily on enhancing diversity among the Experiment Station Directors, Research Directors, and their associates and assistants.

**Key Questions that will be considered:** 

- **❖** How do we create diversity in ESCOP leadership and its pipeline?
- Where are we at? Where do we want to go? What does success look like?
- Are there actions and programmatic activities that might contribute to advancing this critical issue?
- What best practices could we adopt in our regional and national associations that would complement on-going efforts?

## Membership

The Task Force is populated with 16 people and will have Karen Plaut (Purdue University) as chair with additional directors of Ali Fares (Prairie View A&M University), Tim Phipps (West Virginia University), Jackie Burns (University of Florida) and Charles Boyer (Montana State University); College Diversity as Shannon Archibeque-Engle (Colorado State University); AHS as Doze Butler (Southern University and A&M College); Allied leader as Soyeon Shim (University of Wisconsin); ECOP as Julie Middleton (University of Missouri Extension); ACOP as Cynda Clary (Oklahoma State University); Regional Directors as Jeff Jacobsen (NCRA), Dan Rossi (NERA), Carolyn Brooks (ARD); and Regional System Administrators as Chris Hamilton (NCRA), Sarah Lupis (WAAESD), Rubie Mize (NERA).

## **Inaugural Meeting**

A conference call has been set up for December 7, 2015. A Basecamp project site has been set up that includes background resources, ESCOP diversity data, FSLI diversity data and working materials.