Agenda Brief:	ESCOP Science and Technology Committee
Date:	July 20, 2011
Presenter:	William Ravlin/Daniel Rossi

Background Information:

- 1. <u>Committee Membership</u>:
 - Chair
 - William Ravlin (NCRA)
 - Delegates
 - John Liu (SAAESD)
 - John Russin (SAAESD)
 - Mike Hoffmann (NERA)
 - Tom Brady (NERA)
 - Steve Meredith (ARD) Vice Chair
 - _____ (ARD)
 - Larry Curtis (WAAESD)
 - David Thompson (WAAESD)
 - Jozef Kokini (NCRA)
 - Abel Ponce de Leon (NCRA)
 - Executive Vice-Chair
 - Dan Rossi (NERA, Executive Director)
 - NIFA Representative
 - Muquarrab Qureshi
 - ERS Representative
 - Terry Nelsen
 - Social Science Subcommittee Representative
 - Travis Park
 - Pest Management Strategies Subcommittee Representative
 - Frank Zalom
 - Liaisons
 - Cliff Gabriel (Office of Science and Technology Policy)
 - Edwin Price (ICOP)
- 2. <u>Meetings</u>

•

The Committee met by conference call on May 23, 2011. The next face-to-face meeting of the committee has not yet been scheduled.

3. <u>Multistate Research Award</u>

The Committee met reviewed the following nominations for the 2011 National Multistate Research Award for Excellence:

- NC-1030 Family Firms and Policy in Times of Disruption
- NE-1025 Biology, Ecology and Management of Emerging Pests of Annual Bluegrass on Golf Courses
- S-1032 Improving the Sustainability of Livestock and Poultry Production in the United States
- W-2188 Characterizing Mass and Energy Transport at Different Vadose Zone Scales

The Science and Technology Committee selected **S-1032** and forwarded this recommendation to the ESCOP Executive Committee for approval. The Executive Committee approved this recommendation and documentation was forwarded to APLU to be included in the Annual APLU Awards Program.

4. Science Roadmap

The Science Roadmap for Food and Agriculture report is completed and has been distributed. The Chair of the Committee, Bill Ravlin, agreed to chair a joint Task Force on operationalizing the Science Roadmap.

Action Requested: For information only.