Agenda Brief:	ESCOP Science and Technology Committee
Date:	September 27, 2011
Presenter:	William Ravlin/Daniel Rossi

Background Information:

- 1. <u>Committee Membership</u>:
 - Chair
 - William Ravlin (NCRA)
 - Delegates
 - John Liu (SAAESD)
 - John Russin (SAAESD)
 - Mike Hoffmann (NERA)
 - Cameron Faustman (NERA)
 - Steve Meredith (ARD) Vice Chair
 - _____ (ARD)
 - Larry Curtis (WAAESD)
 - David Thompson (WAAESD)
 - Jozef Kokini (NCRA)
 - Abel Ponce de Leon (NCRA)
 - Executive Vice-Chair
 - Dan Rossi (NERA, Executive Director)
 - NIFA Representative
 - Muquarrab Qureshi
 - Social Science Subcommittee Representative
 - Travis Park
 - Pest Management Strategies Subcommittee Representative
 - o Frank Zalom
- 2. Meetings

The Committee met by conference call on May 23, 2011. The next face-to-face meeting of the committee has not yet been scheduled.

3. Multistate Research Award

The Committee reviewed the following nominations for the 2011 National Multistate Research Award for Excellence:

- NC-1030 Family Firms and Policy in Times of Disruption
- NE-1025 Biology, Ecology and Management of Emerging Pests of Annual Bluegrass on Golf Courses
- S-1032 Improving the Sustainability of Livestock and Poultry Production in the United States
- W-2188 Characterizing Mass and Energy Transport at Different Vadose Zone Scales

The Science and Technology Committee selected **S-1032** and forwarded this recommendation to the ESCOP Executive Committee for approval. The Executive Committee approved this recommendation and documentation was forwarded to APLU to be included in the Annual APLU Awards Program.

The Science and Technology Committee recommends that MRF off-the-top funding in the amount of \$15,000 be awarded to the S-1032 Technical Committee to support travel to award ceremony and activities which enhance and contribute to research and/or outreach objectives of project.

4. Science Roadmap

The Science Roadmap for Food and Agriculture report is completed and has been distributed. The Chair of the Committee, Bill Ravlin, agreed to chair a joint Task Force on operationalizing the Science Roadmap. The current composition of the Task Force includes the chairs (or their designees) of the ESCOP Budget & Legislative, Communications & Marketing, and the Science & Technology Committees and the five regional research Executive Directors. The charge is to develop operational plans and corresponding strategies for implementing and marketing the Roadmap. It will also develop strategies for the use of the Roadmap recommendations in the development of budget requests and advocacy efforts. The Task Force has designed a session at the 2011 ESS/SAES/ARD Workshop to obtain initial input from the SAES/ARD directors.

Action Requested: Approval of MRF off-the-top funding for 2012 Multistate Research Award winner (S-1032).