A Resolution to Recognize the 2015 Experiment Station Section Awardees for Excellence in Leadership

WHEREAS, the following individuals have served their own institutions, their Regional Associations, the Experiment Station Section and the Land-grant System in various leadership positions with exemplary distinction:

Dr. Alton Thompson, Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs, Delaware State University

Dr. Fred Cholick, former Dean and Director (retired), Kansas State University (President and Chief Executive, Kansas State University Foundation) (retired)

Dr. Michael P. Hoffmann, Director, Cornell University Agricultural Experiment Station - Ithaca

Dr. Eric Young, Executive Director, Southern Association of Agricultural Experiment Station Directors

Dr. Ron Pardini, Professor of Biochemistry, University of Nevada Reno, former AES Associate Director and Interim Dean and Director

WHEREAS, these leaders have personified the highest level of excellence by enhancing the cause and performance of the Regional Associations and Experiment Station Section in achieving their mission and the Land-Grant ideal; and

WHEREAS, these leaders have, through their many service activities exhibited by offices held, committee participation and unique assignments, made very significant regional and national contributions that build programs and capacity; and

WHEREAS, these leaders have provided significant, dynamic and high quality performance with regional, national and/or international impacts and have a record of significant accomplishments in the agricultural sciences; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the members of the Experiment Station Section assembled at their annual meeting in Charlotte, North Carolina, on September 30, 2015 congratulate Drs. Thompson, Cholick, Hoffmann, Young and Pardini for their recognition as the 2015 Experiment Station Section Awardees for Excellence in Leadership; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, we express sincere appreciation and gratitude to these leaders for their dedicated service and many valuable contributions to the Regional Associations, Experiment Station Section and the Land-grant System; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that original copies of this resolution be provided to Drs. Thompson, Cholick, Hoffmann, Young and Pardini that a copy be filed as part of the official minutes of this meeting.

Resolution of Appreciation to Agricultural Experiment Station Administrators who left their positions and responsibilities in the 2014 to 2015 year.

WHEREAS, the following have served as Administrators of their respective State Agricultural Experiment Station, and

WHEREAS, they have actively participated and served in various capacities at the state, regional and national level on behalf of the Agricultural Experiment Station System, Now, therefore be it

RESOLVED that the State Experiment Station Directors at their annual meeting on September 30, 2015, in Charlotte, NC, recognize the contributions and service toward strengthening the State Agricultural Experiment Station System, and with them success and happiness in all their future endeavors.

ARD

- Dr. Barry Bequette, Alcorn State University
- Dr. William Randle, NC A&T State University
- Dr. Teferi Tsegaye, Kentucky State University

NERA

• Dr. Michael P. Hoffmann, Cornell University

NCRA

• Dr. Steve Slack, The Ohio State University

SAAESD

- Dr. William Batchelor, Auburn University
- Dr. Steve Oliver, University of Tennessee
- Dr. Mary L. Duryea, University of Florida
- Dr. George Askew, Clemson University

WAAESD

- Dr. Barbara Allen-Diaz, University of California
- Dr. Steve Sparrow, University of Alaska Fairbanks
- Dr. Don Thill, University of Idaho
- Dr. Lowell Catlett, New Mexico State University

RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION

WHEREAS, Dr. Bob Shulstad, Chairman of the Experiment Station Section [ESS] of the Board of Agricultural Assembly has provided selfless and committed leadership and keen oversight to enhance the system, and

WHEREAS, under Dr. Shulstad's leadership and support, the priorities of the Experiment Station Section of the Board of Agricultural Assembly have been greatly enhanced and have achieved significant accomplishments, and

WHEREAS, Dr. Shulstad has provided outstanding leadership in the area of planning and building relationships with other research, extension and academic units, and

WHEREAS, Dr. Shulstad has been visionary and timely in conducting ESS business, LET IT BE KNOWN, that the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agricultural Assembly recognizes Dr. Shulstad's invaluable contribution and service to the national agricultural research system, and

THEREFORE, on this day of September 30, 2015, the Experiment Station Section resolves to extend their sincere gratitude for his commitment, service, and leadership in making the system more effective in addressing current and future needs, challenges and opportunities in agricultural research, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that an original of this resolution be provided to Dr. Bob Shulstad and that a copy be filed as part of the official minutes of this meeting

RESOLUTION OF APPRECIATION

WHEREAS, the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agriculture Assembly met at the Ballantyne Hotel and Lodge, in Charlotte, NC on September 28 to October 1, 2015, and

WHEREAS, those attending were educated and stimulated by the meetings, tours, workshops, and banquet,

WHEREAS the location for the meeting was outstanding and the accommodations were both compatible and conducive to effective interaction resulting in a successful meeting;

THEREFORE be it resolved that the Experiment Station Section of the Board on Agricultural Assembly expresses its appreciation to Dr. Carolyn Brooks, Dr. Shirley Hymon-Parker and Dr. Leonard Williams for arranging the facilities; handling the logistics; and coordinating the meetings, breakout sessions and social events, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that an original of this resolution be provided to Dr. Carolyn Brooks, Dr. Shirley Hymon-Parker, and Dr. Leonard Williams and that a copy be filed as part of the official minutes of this meeting.

Action Requested: Approval of Resolutions