Background:

This award was conceived by the S&T committee in 2013 and will be considered part of the ESCOP Chair's duties going forward. Please refer to the 2015 version of this award announcement below for more details. Winners will be presented with their award during the APLU Annual Meeting's awards ceremony on Sunday, November 15, 2015.

Winners this year are:

Dr. Alton Thompson, Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs, Delaware State University

Dr. Fred Cholick, former Dean and Director (retired), Kansas State University (President and Chief Executive, Kansas State University Foundation) (retired)

Dr. Michael P. Hoffmann, Director, Cornell University Agricultural Experiment Station - Ithaca

Dr. Eric Young, Executive Director, Southern Association of Agricultural Experiment Station Directors

Dr. Ron Pardini, Professor of Biochemistry, University of Nevada Reno, former AES Associate Director and Interim Dean and Director

Final version of award announcement to share annually with each region:

Experiment Station Section Awards for Excellence in Leadership (June 2015)

Purpose

To recognize those who have served the Regional Associations, the Experiment Station Committee on Organization and Policy (ESCOP), the Experiment Station Section (ESS) and/or the national Land-grant System with exemplary distinction. Through this person's leadership, he/she shall have personified the highest level of excellence by enhancing the cause and performance of the Regional Associations and ESS in achieving their missions and the Landgrant ideal.

Award and Presentation

Up to five awards, one from each ESS region, will be presented each year. The awards shall be signified by the creation of a suitably inscribed piece approved by the ESCOP Executive Committee and presented to the recipient or his/her proxy at the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) annual meeting and will be further memorialized by a resolution

to be read during the ESS fall meeting. The home institution shall be made aware of the recognition by formal letter from the ESCOP Chair to the Chief Executive Officer of the institution and its governing body (Board of Trustees, Board of Regents, etc.) with others copied as appropriate.

The expense of the actual award recognition will be borne by the Regional Association, while the expenses associated with travel of the winners to the APLU meeting will be borne by the Associations and/or home institutions.

Eligibility

Eligible for this award are former or current State Agricultural Experiment/Research Station (SAES or ARD) leaders who have provided service as assistant director, associate director, director, or as chief operating officers with equivalent, but variant titles (e.g. vice chancellor, associate vice chancellor, associate vice president, dean for research) and/or as a regional executive director. This award is distinctive in its expectations and not necessarily coincident with retirement, election to specific office or any other specific professional benchmark.

Nominations

Nominations shall include a statement of accomplishments prepared by the nominator(s) unbeknownst to the candidate and supported by letters from up to five (5) former or current members of the ESS. Other letters of support from the home and other institutions may be submitted with the discretion of the nominator(s). Nominations shall address the contributions of the nominee to the Land-grant ideal through service to include offices held, committee assignments, other service and, in particular special and extraordinary service activities. Such service should include for example: active participation in affairs of the Regional Association and/or ESCOP; regional, national and/or international special assignments with distinctive performance that has advanced the mission of the ESS and the land-grant ideal; and a record of significant accomplishments in the agricultural sciences. Specific examples of contributions may include the enhancement of cooperation across institutions, creation of model administrative systems useable by other institutions, and development of new strategic directions for the Regional Associations or the ESS. Although testimony as to the nominee's contributions to his/her home state and institution are welcomed, they are not pivotal to assessing the contributions to ESS and related activities.

Submission and Review

Nominations for the recognition should be submitted to the Regional Associations by February 1 of each year. The Regional Associations will review the nominations and will select one regional winner. The Associations will submit the names of the winners to the ESCOP Chair by July 1 and he/she in turn will forward them to APLU. The winners will be announced at the fall ESS meeting and the awards will be presented at the APLU annual meeting. Regional Associations may also choose to recognize the Awardee in addition to the above venues.